Becky Loves Alex <3
Happy birthday.
posted on: Sunday, Feb. 19, 2006 at 9:31 pm
A birthday is a celebration of life.

Well, that's not actually true. A birthday is a celebration of the lack of death. So, you could say life, but it's a bit of a mistranslation.

People started making a big point of birthdays because it celebrated one more year that they'd managed to stay alive. One more year where they hadn't died.

That's why you stop having birthdays when you die. Because there's no point: you're dead. And they made it something to look forward to, with nice little gifts and cards, and a cake and candles, and all sorts of other things.

I am fifteen in two days, yet I am still closer to birth than I am to death. In a natural lifespan, considering that women are meant to live to eighty something now.

That's why 'life begins at forty', because you know you're only going to get one step closer to death.

So, say I am meant to die at eighty.

That means I have seventy-five years left to live. And I want every one of those seventy-five years to mean something. I want to live through every one of those seventy-five years.

Wow.

Imagine how pissed off I'd be if I died tomorrow.

So long and goodnight.

Becky <3 Alex

nav: newest / older / profile / notes / design / host