Becky Loves Alex <3
(blank)
posted on: Wednesday, Aug. 30, 2006 at 9:55 pm
I finish drying the dishes,
Wince as you stomp up the stairs.
We spent another hour dancing
Around the empty space at the table.
I turn off the light and walked upstairs,
Into your room,
Where you're asleep,
All curled up and angry,
And I think how small you look
With your hair strewn about,
And how young, without
The eye make-up, and the puffed-up hair,
How you could ever care about,
Someone that left us both,
Your little mouth was all stretched out
And screaming, slack now,
And pressed against your hand, curled
In a fist,
Some things never change.
I walk into my room, and take
The box I made, and look inside,
At poems - stacks of them,
And I feel sad,
That half of them were written about him
And the other half were written about being without him,
I was your age, you know,
I clutch them to my chest,
Like I used to,
Like I want to,
Like I would do,
With you,
And I think
To myself
In the dark
Of my thoughts
And my room
How can I ever care about
The people
That leave me?
Becky <3 Alex

nav: newest / older / profile / notes / design / host