Becky Loves Alex <3
A poem.
posted on: Monday, May. 26, 2008 at 10:56 pm
I should have smiled more in pictures.
Should have, left my hair to dry alone
And run until my lungs were sore,
Laughed until I was burning for air.

I should have fought my corner, more
And listened to the people who fought theirs,
Ignored the steady drum of rain
Against the floats of my parade.

I should have listened more, to silence.
Should have heard the wind thrash in the trees,
Taken heed of creatures
Of all sorts, and all alive.

I should have been more daring.
Should have, but I never found the guts
To place my heart on lines
That I was sure would harm.

I should have spoken, more,
Not held my tongue, but said the words
That nestled in my mind,
Composed my thoughts.

I should have done this all, and more,
But time runs down,
And light grows dim,
And all-consuming darkness falls,
To lead me far from living walls.

Becky <3 Alex

nav: newest / older / profile / notes / design / host